A Humble Beginning

About a year ago I watch a video that change my perspective on wine. Before this I had a lot of trouble understanding why people adored wine and spent vast sums of wealth just to put a bottle into their basement. At this point in my life I had been drinking all kinds of alcohol, and was very fond of beer, rum, whiskey, tequila, and almost any alcohol you could think of (except vodka, sadly college has ruined vodka for me). One morning while my fiancé slept I saw the documentary “Somm: Into the Bottle” on my Netflix cue and decided to give it a chance. This video showed me the passion, dedication, love and joy people had for wine. This video made me want to love wine and appreciate everything about it. Unfortunately, when I tried to put my love into practice all I felt like I was drinking was very sour grape juice.

It took me until a few weeks ago to begin to enjoy wine. On my honeymoon in Paris, I booked a wine tasting for my wife and I at O Chateau, which is a lovely chateau in the heart of Paris. They took us downstairs to the cellar where they had prepared a table full of fine cheeses, beautiful aged meats, and bottles upon bottles of wine. We sat with roughly twenty other people, most of them old and experienced wine drinkers, as the sommelier began. With each wine he described the region, the wine making history of that region, the character of the soil and the flavors we would taste and smell. He then gave us the cheese and explain why it paired with this wine, and what differences the wine would take on after we had our cheese. After two hours of eating, drinking and learning, my taste buds were turned. I had enjoyed the wine and wanted more. Being in France that was not difficult to do, and throughout our honeymoon, we drank beautiful wine.

My intention with this blog is to share my experiences with the wine as I come to experiment with it. I have virtually zero knowledge about wine and have no idea what I am doing, but will share my experiences with you anyway.

PS: I HIGHLY recommend “Somm: Into the Bottle”

 

Leave a Reply

