The Cabernet Sauvignon

  • Name: Gentleman’s Collection
  • Grape: Cabernet Sauvignon
  • Year: 2015
  • Winery: Lindeman’s Winery
  • Country of Origin: United States of America
  • Region: Napa Valley
  • Price: $11.99
  • Rating: 7/10

Seeing how the Cabernet Sauvignon is one of the most famous grapes in all of wine, I think it makes sense to start with it. I chose this bottle of wine for three reasons: it was on sale, I liked the label, and I had enjoyed cabernet sauvignon on the honeymoon. The smell of the wine is, well how can I put this, fruity? I am still having trouble noticing little subtle smells in the wine, but I do smell quite a bit of alcohol and perhaps a bit of smokiness.  The overall taste of the wine is quite good, it has a subtle finish and is smooth over the tongue. It is rather dry and is not very sweet, but has a distinct flavor of sharp berries as it goes over the tongue.  The more the air gets to it the easier it is to drink and the more alcohol I seem to be able to taste. It is beginning to taste quite fruity now as well. Overall I think that this is quite a nice wine for the price. Easy to drink, mellow on the tongue, but still reminds you that it is alcoholic. Would buy again at this price point.

 

Leave a Reply

