Chianti

  • Name: Il Cavaliere
  • Grape: Chianti
  • Year: 2015
  • Winery: Gabbiano
  • Country of Origin: Italy
  • Region: Chianti Classico
  • Price: $6.99
  • Rating: 5/10

Since I have no idea what I am doing when I shop for wine I (yet again) decided to just pick whatever happened to be the wine of the week at my favorite liquor store. This week it was a chianti, which I have discovered is made up of three different grapes. It is made from 70% Sangiovese, 15% Canaiolo, and 15% Malvasia bianca, and comes for them chianti region in Italy. This being my first Italian wine, I am quite excited to see how it will be, especially since this is where my ancestors are from, and the fact that chianti is a well-known wine.

It smells rather fruity, but not strongly as it cannot hide the smell of alcohol. It has a very dry taste to it, but the fruitiness that I could smell is easily acquirable. It has a rather bitter aftertaste and burns a bit going down. Personally, I do not enjoy this wine. I do not know if it is the brand or just the style, but the bitterness at the end and the overall taste is not something I agree. I think I will have to go out and find a different brand and try it again.

 

Leave a Reply

