Pinot Noir

  • Grape: Pinot Noir
  • Year: 2015
  • Winery: Gnarly Head
  • Country of Origin: United States of America
  • Region: Napa Valley
  • Price: $7.99
  • Rating: 7/10

This wine was recommended to me by my lovely wife. I bought her a bottle of this randomly from Costco when we were dating and she was quite the fan and has had it regularly ever since. With the price point it is hard to argue with the taste of this pinot noir. This wine smells rather fruity, and is smooth going down. On the back of the wine it tells me that it is a “daring” and “impossibly seductive” and even “voluptuous.” I don’t know how a wine can be these things, but it does then break down what I should be tasting. I should not lush dark fruit, toasted oats, violet (is that a flavor?), earth and spice. I do not the fruit (obviously) but as far as toasted oats and earth I do not notice them at all. Perhaps my pallet is lacking, or the wine makers are a little overzealous with their descriptions. Overall though this is a tasty, refreshing, and easy drinking wine and I am enjoying it on this hot summers day.

 

Leave a Reply

